Paul Schwer - 20 Jahre PEAC.Museum eine Ausstellung in zwei Akten

18.02.2024 - 21.07.2024

Images of the Exhibition

The PEAC Museum turns 20! The anniversary exhibition Between white walls... tells the story of a collection: it traces the lines of development from the passion of one individual to a museum as an open and lively place for everyone.

The anniversary presentation shows around 70 works from the collection. Among them are new acquisitions that are being presented for the first time. On display are works that were groundbreaking for the PEAC Museum and continue to shape its identity to this day.

In the exhibition, sometimes associative, sometimes thematic or art-historical references are made between the works, so that not only the collection itself but also the exhibition practice is placed at the center. What changes when works of art are presented together? What stories are constructed, what connections or contradictions emerge, and how does the space between the white walls function?

While the collection forms the constant content of the exhibition, the narrative is by no means static. The exhibition is divided into two acts: the first act invites visitors to contribute their perspectives in the PEAC Spotlight format. The PEAC Museum will thus become a space for exchange and coming together, not only in the museum and "between the white walls", but will also be extended into the outside space: for the first time, a new installation by artist Zora Kreuzer (*1986 in Bonn, lives and works in Berlin) will be shown on the outside façade of the PEAC Museum.

In the second act of the exhibition (from June 7, 2024), the museum will be transformed anew and, in addition to the presentation of the collection, will show the future winner(s) of the Paul Ege Art Prize 2024. The prize is awarded every three years in cooperation with the city of Freiburg and is aimed at up-and-coming artists from the border triangle, who are selected by an independent jury of experts.

Artists in the exhibition include: Paul Ahl, Marc Angeli, Frank Badur, Joachim Bandau, Stephan Baumkötter, Tom Benson, Reto Boller, Astha Butail, Max Cole, Rudolf de Crignis, Rolf-Gunter Dienst, Joseph Egan, Henrik Eiben, Paul Fägerskiöld, Rupprecht Geiger, Florian Haas, Marcia Hafif, Katharina Hinsberg, Günther Holder, Gottfried Honegger, Alfonso Hüppi, Ben Hübsch, Sophie Innmann, Donald Judd, Judith Kakon, Dieter Kiessling, Martina Klein, Imi Knoebel, Brigitte Kowanz, Zora Kreuzer, Russel Maltz, Joseph Marioni, Annette Merkenthaler, Michael Mathias Prechtel, David Rabinowitch, Franziska Reinbothe, Michael Reisch, Winston Roeth, Reiner Ruthenbeck, Antonio Scaccabarozzi, Adrian Schiess, Astrid Schindler, Anna Schütten, Paul Schwer, David Semper, Phil Sims, Anne Sterzbach, Maria Tackmann, Michael Toenges, Peter Tollens, Günter Umberg, Michael Venezia